A national network of funders supporting strategic, innovative, and effective solutions to homelessness

Featured Partner Webinar Series: New Tools and Strategies to Advance Housing Justice Narrative

Aug 19 - 1:00pm ET | 12:00pm CT | 11:00am MT | 10:00am PT

Long before the COVID pandemic laid bare the human cost of housing injustice in the United States, access to housing has been one of the dominant drivers of race and gender inequity in this country. While there has been a deep and rich history of housing organizing and policy advocacy, this moment demands that we come together to employ new tools to frame the debate and win meaningful change. 

For the past nine months Community Change, PolicyLink, and Race Forward with the support of Funders for Housing and Opportunity have been collaborating in a public opinion research project to develop tools and strategies for housing. Their work draws from lessons learned from the Race-Class Narrative Project, as well as research and analysis from ASO Communications in summer 2019. For this project, they contracted with Lake Research Partners to conduct a series of focus groups in early 2020 followed by a national phone poll that concluded in late April.  

Now they are ready to share the lessons learned and new narrative tools with partners and allies working for housing justice. Join this webinar series by Community Change, PolicyLink, and Race Forward to learn about new tools and strategies to advance a housing justice narrative intended to help organizers and advocates achieve our collective goals of racial justice and homes for all.

 

Webinar Schedule
(all webinars from 1:00-2:30pm ET/Noon-1:30pm CT/11:00am-12:30pm MT/10:00-11:30am PT)

June 10           #1: What we learned from the research - Recording is available here.

June 24           #2: Narrative Strategy 202: Deep narrative and narrative alignment - Recording is available here.

July 8              #3: What’s Race Got to Do with It? - Recording is available here.

July 29            #4: Cultural strategy: Expanding impact of narrative through art and culture

Aug 19            #5: Driving narrative with legislative proposals and policy fights

 

Hosts
Community Change, PolicyLink, and Race Forward

 

Registration
To register for this series by Community Change, PolicyLink, and Race Forward, click the registration button below and fill out the Google form

 

WHEN
August 19, 2020 at 1pm - 2:30pm
CONTACT
Lauren Bennett ·

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

We joined Funders Together because we believe in the power of philanthropy to play a major role in ending homelessness, and we know we have much to learn from funders across the country.

-Christine Marge, Director of Housing and Financial Stability at United Way of Greater Los Angeles

I am thankful for the local partnerships here in the Pacific Northwest that we’ve been able to create and nurture thanks to the work of Funders Together. Having so many of the right players at the table makes our conversations – and all of our efforts – all the richer and more effective.

-David Wertheimer, Deputy Director at Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Very often a lack of jobs and money is not the cause of poverty, but the symptom. The cause may lie deeper in our failure to give our fellow citizens a fair chance to develop their own capacities, in a lack of education and training, in a lack of medical care and housing, in a lack of decent communities in which to live and bring up their children.

-President Lyndon B. Johnson, 1964 State of the Union Address

Funders Together has given me a platform to engage the other funders in my community. Our local funding community has improved greatly to support housing first models and align of resources towards ending homelessness.

-Leslie Strnisha, Vice President at Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland

Our family foundation convenes local funders and key community stakeholders around strategies to end homelessness in Houston. Funders Together members have been invaluable mentors to us in this effort, traveling to our community to share their expertise and examples of best practices from around the nation.

-Nancy Frees Fountain, Managing Director at The Frees Foundation


Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or email.