A national network of funders supporting strategic, innovative, and effective solutions to homelessness

Partner Webinar: Juneteenth: A Conversation About Race, Homelessness, and Poverty

Friday, June 19th | 4:00pm ET | 3:00pm CT | 2:00pm MT | 1:00pm PT

Funders Together CEO, Amanda Andere, will be speaking on a panel that includes three esteemed African American Female Leaders. The conversation will address institutional racism, homelessness and generational poverty. Combating the homeless crisis in Los Angeles will take an all-hands-on-deck approach and a commitment to dismantling the racist structures that have prevented so many of our Black and Brown neighbors from thriving.

Speakers:

  • Va Lecia Adams Kellum, Ph.D., President & CEO of St. Joseph Center
  • Karen Bass, U.S. Congresswoman & Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus
  • Amanda Andere, CEO of Funders Together to End Homelessness

While this event is currently sold out, there is a waiting list for those who still wish to attend. To be added to the waitlist, please email drobinson@stjosephctr.org.

WHEN
June 19, 2020 at 4pm - 5:30pm

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

We joined Funders Together because we believe in the power of philanthropy to play a major role in ending homelessness, and we know we have much to learn from funders across the country.

-Christine Marge, Director of Housing and Financial Stability at United Way of Greater Los Angeles

I am thankful for the local partnerships here in the Pacific Northwest that we’ve been able to create and nurture thanks to the work of Funders Together. Having so many of the right players at the table makes our conversations – and all of our efforts – all the richer and more effective.

-David Wertheimer, Deputy Director at Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Very often a lack of jobs and money is not the cause of poverty, but the symptom. The cause may lie deeper in our failure to give our fellow citizens a fair chance to develop their own capacities, in a lack of education and training, in a lack of medical care and housing, in a lack of decent communities in which to live and bring up their children.

-President Lyndon B. Johnson, 1964 State of the Union Address

Funders Together has given me a platform to engage the other funders in my community. Our local funding community has improved greatly to support housing first models and align of resources towards ending homelessness.

-Leslie Strnisha, Vice President at Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland

Our family foundation convenes local funders and key community stakeholders around strategies to end homelessness in Houston. Funders Together members have been invaluable mentors to us in this effort, traveling to our community to share their expertise and examples of best practices from around the nation.

-Nancy Frees Fountain, Managing Director at The Frees Foundation


Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or email.